Municipal solid wasteSolarOperating

H Power

Municipal solid waste power plant in Honolulu County, Hawaii. 100.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Covanta Honolulu Resource Recovery.

Also known as EIA plant 10334

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Campbell Industrial ParkTesoro HawaiiKalaeloa Solar TwoKapolei Solar Energy…Kapolei Energy StorageH Power1 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 3.2 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
100.2 MWMunicipal solid waste 97.3 · Solar 2.9
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 1989First generator online
Operator
Covanta Honolulu Resource RecoveryEIA operator ID 49846
Grid
Not reported
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Honolulu County, HI21.3000, −158.0986
EIA plant ID
10334EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power H Power produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

318 GWh

318,368 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

36.3%

2024: 36.0%

January to July 2026

154 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

318.4–413.1

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000320,442Not reported12 of 12
2001275,089Not reported12 of 12
2002299,675Not reported12 of 12
2003334,605Not reported12 of 12
2004325,256Not reported12 of 12
2005292,932Not reported12 of 12
2006338,649Not reported12 of 12
2007304,121Not reported12 of 12
2008329,887Not reported12 of 12
2009323,031Not reported12 of 12
2010312,80756.1%12 of 12
2011317,72656.9%12 of 12
2012301,19653.8%12 of 12
2013359,777Not reported12 of 12
2014382,60744.9%12 of 12
2015374,65344.0%12 of 12
2016405,15047.4%12 of 12
2017372,83943.7%12 of 12
2018397,63446.7%12 of 12
2019413,08148.5%12 of 12
2020219,013Not reported7 of 12
2021363,857Not reported12 of 12
2022369,48242.1%12 of 12
2023327,85037.4%12 of 12
2024104,75136.0%4 of 12
2025318,36836.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)154,29830.3%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Municipal Solid Waste63.7November 1989
GEN2Municipal Solid Waste33.6February 2013
PV1Solar Photovoltaic2.9June 2020

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Covanta Honolulu Resource Recovery as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query H Power and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near H Power

Questions about H Power

How much power does H Power produce?

H Power reported 318,368 MWh (318 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 36.3% capacity factor on 100.2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 154 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is H Power?

H Power is in Honolulu County, Hawaii, at 21.3000, −158.0986.

Who operates H Power?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Covanta Honolulu Resource Recovery as the operator (EIA operator ID 49846). The operator is not always the owner.

When did H Power start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 1989, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page