Whitewater Valley
Coal power plant in Wayne County, Indiana. 93.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by City of Richmond - (IN).
Also known as Whitewater Valley Power Plant · EIA plant 1040
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 93.9 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- March 1955First generator online
- Operator
- City of Richmond - (IN)EIA operator ID 15989
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Wayne County, IN39.8028, −84.8953
- EIA plant ID
- 1040EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Whitewater Valley produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
52.6 GWh
52,619 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
6.4%
2024: 4.3%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
16.3–63.8
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 534,381 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 617,443 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 582,793 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 567,469 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 506,426 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 545,781 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 392,012 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 395,387 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 397,932 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 185,879 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 211,279 | 25.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 231,151 | 28.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 23,949 | 2.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 18,213 | 2.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 45,133 | 5.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 53,291 | 6.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 63,837 | 7.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 36,667 | 4.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 41,092 | 5.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 38,593 | 4.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 32,945 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 27,965 | 3.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 50,370 | 6.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 16,259 | 2.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 35,244 | 4.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 52,619 | 6.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
70,248
US short tons. 2024: 48,892
SO₂, 2025
1,401
US short tons
NOx, 2025
125
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.34 t
About 2,670 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 1040 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 33.0 | March 1955 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 60.9 | August 1973 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Richmond - (IN) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Whitewater Valley and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Whitewater Valley
Questions about Whitewater Valley
How much power does Whitewater Valley produce?
Whitewater Valley reported 52,619 MWh (52.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 6.4% capacity factor on 93.9 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Whitewater Valley?
Whitewater Valley is in Wayne County, Indiana, at 39.8028, −84.8953. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Whitewater Valley?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Richmond - (IN) as the operator (EIA operator ID 15989). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Whitewater Valley start operating?
Its first generator began operating in March 1955, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Whitewater Valley?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Whitewater Valley, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page