Rumford Cogeneration
Wood biomass power plant in Oxford County, Maine. 102.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by ND Paper, Inc..
Also known as Rumford Cogeneration Plant · EIA plant 10495
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 102.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1990First generator online
- Operator
- ND Paper, Inc.EIA operator ID 61813
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Oxford County, ME44.5513, −70.5414
- EIA plant ID
- 10495EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Rumford Cogeneration produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
424 GWh
423,927 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
47.2%
2024: 46.2%
January to July 2026
59.1 GWh
Provisional. 2 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
383.7–588.4
GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 660,627 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 675,797 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 767,374 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 704,406 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2004 | 734,128 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 728,420 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 700,901 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 701,780 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | 456,448 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 603,178 | 67.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 628,404 | 69.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 622,028 | 69.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 611,503 | 68.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 588,453 | 65.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 519,042 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 540,682 | 60.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 574,516 | 63.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 588,404 | 65.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 560,001 | 62.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 542,209 | 60.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 383,725 | 42.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 428,411 | 47.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 409,066 | 45.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 415,933 | 46.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 423,927 | 47.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 59,055 | 39.3% | 2 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
636
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
636
million gallons
Source
Androscoggin River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.108
USGS SUI, HUC12 Logan Brook-Androscoggin River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Wood/Wood Waste Biomass | 102.6 | January 1990 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists ND Paper, Inc. as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Rumford Cogeneration and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Rumford Cogeneration
More plants operated by ND Paper, Inc.
Questions about Rumford Cogeneration
How much power does Rumford Cogeneration produce?
Rumford Cogeneration reported 423,927 MWh (424 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 47.2% capacity factor on 102.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 59.1 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Rumford Cogeneration?
Rumford Cogeneration is in Oxford County, Maine, at 44.5513, −70.5414. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates Rumford Cogeneration?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists ND Paper, Inc. as the operator (EIA operator ID 61813). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Rumford Cogeneration start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1990, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Rumford Cogeneration?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Rumford Cogeneration, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page