Wood biomassOperatingMISO

Grayling Generating Station

Wood biomass power plant in Crawford County, Michigan. 38.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by NorthStar Clean Energy.

Also known as EIA plant 10822

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Kalkaska CT #1Gaylord - WolverineMioAlpine Power PlantGrayling25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 52 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
38.6 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 1992First generator online
Operator
NorthStar Clean EnergyEIA operator ID 3836
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
2 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Crawford County, MI44.6049, −84.6906
EIA plant ID
10822EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Grayling produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

182 GWh

181,959 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

53.8%

2024: 48.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

66.3–219.2

GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001241,998Not reported12 of 12
2002198,481Not reported12 of 12
2003233,112Not reported12 of 12
2004278,654Not reported12 of 12
2005253,529Not reported12 of 12
2006242,017Not reported12 of 12
2007245,997Not reported12 of 12
2008233,411Not reported12 of 12
2009190,207Not reported12 of 12
2010216,78865.1%12 of 12
2011224,13567.3%12 of 12
2012164,33849.2%12 of 12
2013176,85553.1%12 of 12
2014207,77562.4%12 of 12
2015116,34034.9%12 of 12
2016131,40039.4%12 of 12
2017160,21648.1%12 of 12
2018176,31253.0%12 of 12
2019171,21051.4%12 of 12
202066,33919.9%12 of 12
2021203,86161.2%12 of 12
2022219,171Not reported12 of 12
2023134,12439.7%12 of 12
2024164,58748.5%12 of 12
2025181,95953.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

Not reported

US short tons. 2024: Not reported

SO₂, 2025

8

US short tons

NOx, 2025

169

US short tons

0 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1), matched to EIA plant 10822 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Wood/Wood Waste Biomass38.6May 1992

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists NorthStar Clean Energy as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Grayling Generating Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Grayling

More plants operated by NorthStar Clean Energy

Questions about Grayling

How much power does Grayling Generating Station produce?

Grayling Generating Station reported 181,959 MWh (182 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 53.8% capacity factor on 38.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Grayling Generating Station?

Grayling Generating Station is in Crawford County, Michigan, at 44.6049, −84.6906. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Grayling Generating Station?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists NorthStar Clean Energy as the operator (EIA operator ID 3836). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Grayling Generating Station start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 1992, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Grayling Generating Station?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Grayling Generating Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page