Natural gasOperatingSPP

Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant

Natural gas power plant in Kingman County, Kansas. 16.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by City of Kingman - (KS).

Also known as EIA plant 1296

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Flat Ridge 4Flat Ridge 5AnthonyFlat Ridge 3Kingman Municipal Pow…10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 34 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
16.9 MWNameplate
Generators
5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 1969First generator online
Operator
City of Kingman - (KS)EIA operator ID 10321
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
5 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Kingman County, KS37.3831, −98.0704
EIA plant ID
1296EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.09 GWh

1,087 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.6%

2024: 1.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

−0.3–6.6

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2021

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
200147,966Not reported12 of 12
200248,806Not reported12 of 12
200346,918Not reported12 of 12
200445,757Not reported12 of 12
200543,988Not reported12 of 12
200631,353Not reported12 of 12
20076,755Not reported12 of 12
20082,976Not reported12 of 12
20093,340Not reported12 of 12
20106,1683.7%12 of 12
20116,3213.8%12 of 12
20127,9644.7%12 of 12
20132,1731.3%12 of 12
20143,3052.0%12 of 12
20153,1841.9%12 of 12
20163,1061.9%12 of 12
20172,1881.3%12 of 12
20182,7191.6%12 of 12
20194,7112.8%12 of 12
20202,6481.6%12 of 12
20216,5833.9%12 of 12
20224,6652.8%12 of 12
2023−340-0.2%12 of 12
20241,6381.0%12 of 12
20251,0870.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
4Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine2.2June 1977
6Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine3.5September 1969
7Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine2.4November 1979
8Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine2.5June 1984
9Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine6.3December 1993

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Kingman - (KS) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant

Questions about Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant

How much power does Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant produce?

Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant reported 1,087 MWh (1.09 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.6% capacity factor on 16.9 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant?

Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant is in Kingman County, Kansas, at 37.3831, −98.0704. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Kingman - (KS) as the operator (EIA operator ID 10321). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 1969, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 5 price nodes linked to Kingman Municipal Power and Light Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page