Washington
Natural gas and oil power plant in Washington County, Kansas. 11.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 7 generators, operated by City of Washington - (KS).
Also known as EIA plant 1329
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 11.4 MWNatural gas 8.8 · Oil 2.6
- Generators
- 7 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 1958First generator online
- Operator
- City of Washington - (KS)EIA operator ID 20141
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Washington County, KS39.7306, −96.9795
- EIA plant ID
- 1329EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Washington produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
24 MWh
24 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.0%
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
24.0–125.0
MWh a year. Low 2025, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 667 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 503 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 400 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 139 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 95 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 143 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 72 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 11 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 98 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 99 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 203 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 506 | 0.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 178 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 24 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 54 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 38 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 44 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 52 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 44 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 35 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 108 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 48 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 35 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 125 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 24 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.2 | August 1963 |
| 2 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.0 | April 1958 |
| 3 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 0.9 | June 1978 |
| 6 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.5 | April 1967 |
| 9 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 2.1 | June 2024 |
| 10 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 2.1 | June 2024 |
| IC4 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | December 1986 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Washington - (KS) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Washington and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Washington
Questions about Washington
How much power does Washington produce?
Washington reported 24 MWh (24 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.0% capacity factor on 11.4 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Washington?
Washington is in Washington County, Kansas, at 39.7306, −96.9795. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Washington?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Washington - (KS) as the operator (EIA operator ID 20141). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Washington a natural gas or a oil plant?
Both. Natural gas capacity totals 8.8 MW and oil capacity totals 2.6 MW.
When did Washington start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 1958, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page