OilOperatingMISO

New Roads

Oil power plant in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. 9.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by Louisiana Energy & Power Authority.

Also known as EIA plant 1453

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

St Francisville MillRiver BendBig Cajun 1Oxbow Solar 1New Roads2 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 6.9 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
9.4 MWNameplate
Generators
6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1951First generator online
Operator
Louisiana Energy & Power AuthorityEIA operator ID 13483
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Pointe Coupee Parish, LA30.7261, −91.3683
EIA plant ID
1453EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power New Roads produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

Not reported

Not reported MWh, final. 0 of 12 months reported

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: Not reported

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2023

0.0–180.0

MWh a year. Low 2017, high 2015

Annual net generation, MWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
200165Not reported12 of 12
20020Not reported12 of 12
200342Not reported12 of 12
20040Not reported12 of 12
2005239Not reported12 of 12
200656Not reported12 of 12
2007191Not reported12 of 12
2008325Not reported12 of 12
20091,062Not reported12 of 12
20102330.3%12 of 12
20115260.6%12 of 12
20122940.4%12 of 12
2013110.0%12 of 12
20141150.1%12 of 12
20151800.2%12 of 12
201640.0%12 of 12
201700.0%12 of 12
201850.0%12 of 12
201900.0%12 of 12
2020270.0%12 of 12
202110Not reported12 of 12
202200.0%12 of 12
202300.0%12 of 12
2024Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2025Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Petroleum Liquids2.3June 1965
2Petroleum Liquids0.6June 1953
3Petroleum Liquids1.1June 1957
4Petroleum Liquids1.7June 1957
5Petroleum Liquids1.7June 1951
6Petroleum Liquids2.0June 1971

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Louisiana Energy & Power Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query New Roads and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near New Roads

More plants operated by Louisiana Energy & Power Authority

Questions about New Roads

Where is New Roads?

New Roads is in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana, at 30.7261, −91.3683. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates New Roads?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Louisiana Energy & Power Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 13483). The operator is not always the owner.

When did New Roads start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1951, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page