GREC
Natural gas and coal power plant in Mayes County, Oklahoma. 1,194.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Grand River Dam Authority.
Also known as Grand River Energy Center · EIA plant 165
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,194.3 MWNatural gas 600.3 · Coal 594.0
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1985First generator online
- Operator
- Grand River Dam AuthorityEIA operator ID 7490
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 2 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Mayes County, OK36.1903, −95.2894
- EIA plant ID
- 165EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power GREC produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.00 TWh
3,996,684 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.2%
2024: 31.6%
January to July 2026
1.28 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.2–4.0
TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 6,282,411 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 6,517,676 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 6,501,431 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 7,079,260 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 6,445,146 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 6,732,409 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 6,151,201 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 7,009,696 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 7,033,867 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 3,523,917 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,263,463 | 70.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 6,804,512 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,054,733 | 50.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,570,592 | 56.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,100,141 | 51.1% | 5 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,755,194 | 37.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,306,516 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | 270,878 | 21.0% | 1 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,205,674 | 14.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,479,258 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,009,932 | 28.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,061,568 | 29.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,617,025 | 34.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,312,665 | 31.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,996,684 | 38.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,283,960 | 21.1% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2018
1.65M
US short tons. 2017: 1.18M
SO₂, 2018
643
US short tons
NOx, 2018
955
US short tons
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2018 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 165 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,376
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,159
million gallons
Source
Grand Neosho
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Moderate · 0.475
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lower Chouteau Creek
23 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 594.0 | October 1985 |
| 3CT | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 369.0 | December 2017 |
| 3ST | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 231.3 | December 2017 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Grand River Dam Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query GREC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near GREC
More plants operated by Grand River Dam Authority
Questions about GREC
How much power does GREC produce?
GREC reported 3,996,684 MWh (4.00 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.2% capacity factor on 1,194.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.28 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is GREC?
GREC is in Mayes County, Oklahoma, at 36.1903, −95.2894. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates GREC?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Grand River Dam Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 7490). The operator is not always the owner.
Is GREC a natural gas or a coal plant?
Both. Natural gas capacity totals 600.3 MW and coal capacity totals 594 MW.
When did GREC start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1985, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for GREC?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to GREC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page