OilOperatingMISO

North Branch (MN)

Oil power plant in Chisago County, Minnesota. 11 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by North Branch Water & Light Comm.

Also known as EIA plant 2002

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

USS Dubhe Solar CSGNorth Star Solar ProjectNorth Branch (MN)5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 8.3 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
11 MWNameplate
Generators
5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 2003First generator online
Operator
North Branch Water & Light CommEIA operator ID 13681
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Chisago County, MN45.5106, −92.9790
EIA plant ID
2002EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power North Branch (MN) produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

249 MWh

249 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.3%

2024: 0.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

195.0–567.0

MWh a year. Low 2015, high 2021

Annual net generation, MWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200225Not reported12 of 12
20036Not reported12 of 12
2004137Not reported12 of 12
2005751Not reported12 of 12
2006559Not reported12 of 12
20076Not reported12 of 12
20086Not reported12 of 12
20096Not reported12 of 12
201074Not reported12 of 12
2011218Not reported12 of 12
201200.0%12 of 12
20131490.2%12 of 12
20144080.4%12 of 12
20151950.2%12 of 12
20163500.4%12 of 12
20172080.2%12 of 12
20183180.3%12 of 12
20193110.3%12 of 12
20202610.3%12 of 12
20215670.6%12 of 12
20222610.3%12 of 12
20232570.3%12 of 12
20243000.3%12 of 12
20252490.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
3Petroleum Liquids2.2October 2003
4Petroleum Liquids2.2October 2003
5Petroleum Liquids2.2December 2011
6Petroleum Liquids2.2December 2011
7Petroleum Liquids2.2December 2011

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists North Branch Water & Light Comm as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query North Branch (MN) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near North Branch (MN)

Questions about North Branch (MN)

How much power does North Branch (MN) produce?

North Branch (MN) reported 249 MWh (249 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.3% capacity factor on 11 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is North Branch (MN)?

North Branch (MN) is in Chisago County, Minnesota, at 45.5106, −92.9790. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates North Branch (MN)?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists North Branch Water & Light Comm as the operator (EIA operator ID 13681). The operator is not always the owner.

When did North Branch (MN) start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 2003, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for North Branch (MN)?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to North Branch (MN), with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page