HydroOperatingERCOT

Eagle Pass

Hydro power plant in Maverick County, Texas. 9.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Maverick Cty Water Control & Improvement.

Also known as Eagle Pass Power Plant · EIA plant 3437

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Regis EscondidoFort Duncan BESSAnacacho Wind Farm, LLCOCI Alamo 4, LLCEagle Pass25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 58 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
9.6 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 1932First generator online
Operator
Maverick Cty Water Control & ImprovementEIA operator ID 54683
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Maverick County, TX28.8295, −100.5522
EIA plant ID
3437EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Eagle Pass produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

16.9 GWh

16,937 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

20.1%

2024: 42.8%

January to July 2026

1.98 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

16.9–44.2

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200048,593Not reported12 of 12
200146,937Not reported12 of 12
200242,525Not reported12 of 12
200333,350Not reported12 of 12
200431,858Not reported12 of 12
200544,091Not reported12 of 12
200650,480Not reported12 of 12
200750,895Not reported12 of 12
200850,282Not reported12 of 12
200945,288Not reported12 of 12
201043,20951.4%12 of 12
201139,90747.5%12 of 12
201235,61042.2%12 of 12
201331,43437.4%12 of 12
201433,38539.7%12 of 12
201538,12145.3%12 of 12
201631,86637.8%12 of 12
201732,75338.9%12 of 12
201833,08539.3%12 of 12
201940,01147.6%12 of 12
202031,31737.1%12 of 12
202136,81643.8%12 of 12
202244,16952.5%12 of 12
202342,97751.1%12 of 12
202436,08742.8%12 of 12
202516,93720.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)1,9844.1%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric3.2August 1932
2Conventional Hydroelectric3.2August 1932
3Conventional Hydroelectric3.2August 1932

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Maverick Cty Water Control & Improvement as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Eagle Pass and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Eagle Pass

Questions about Eagle Pass

How much power does Eagle Pass produce?

Eagle Pass reported 16,937 MWh (16.9 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 20.1% capacity factor on 9.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.98 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Eagle Pass?

Eagle Pass is in Maverick County, Texas, at 28.8295, −100.5522. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Eagle Pass?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Maverick Cty Water Control & Improvement as the operator (EIA operator ID 54683). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Eagle Pass start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 1932, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page