Snowden
Hydro power plant in Bedford County, Virginia. 5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Town of Bedford - (VA).
Also known as EIA plant 3821
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1987First generator online
- Operator
- Town of Bedford - (VA)EIA operator ID 1456
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Bedford County, VA37.5736, −79.3715
- EIA plant ID
- 3821EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Snowden produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
15.8 GWh
15,759 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
36.0%
2024: 31.6%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
8.8–19.5
GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 8,440 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 5,939 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 25,046 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 28,848 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 14,746 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 16,320 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 13,112 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 8,554 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 11,434 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 11,578 | 26.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 9,782 | 22.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 15,568 | 35.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 9,214 | 21.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 19,492 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 19,492 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 14,567 | 33.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 9,205 | 21.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 12,411 | 28.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 14,530 | 33.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 10,912 | 24.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 8,762 | 20.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 14,229 | 32.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 14,006 | 32.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 13,897 | 31.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 15,759 | 36.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 2.5 | August 1987 |
| 5 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 2.5 | August 1987 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Town of Bedford - (VA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Snowden and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Snowden
More plants operated by Town of Bedford - (VA)
Questions about Snowden
How much power does Snowden produce?
Snowden reported 15,759 MWh (15.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 36.0% capacity factor on 5 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Snowden?
Snowden is in Bedford County, Virginia, at 37.5736, −79.3715. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Snowden?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Town of Bedford - (VA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 1456). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Snowden start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1987, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page