HydroOperatingMISO

Prairie Du Sac

Hydro power plant in Sauk County, Wisconsin. 33.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 8 generators, operated by Wisconsin Power & Light Co.

Also known as Prairie du Sac Hydroelectric Dam · EIA plant 4056

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Middleton Biogas Solar, LLCMiddleton Airport SolarWest Middleton BESSHuiskamp BESSColumbia (WI)Portage Industrial BatteryPrairie Du Sac20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 33 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
33.4 MWNameplate
Generators
8 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 1915First generator online
Operator
Wisconsin Power & Light CoEIA operator ID 20856
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Sauk County, WI43.3099, −89.7278
EIA plant ID
4056EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Prairie Du Sac produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

153 GWh

152,864 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

52.2%

2024: 49.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

131.0–184.9

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000130,932Not reported12 of 12
2001143,247Not reported12 of 12
2002170,982Not reported12 of 12
2003109,555Not reported12 of 12
2004139,477Not reported12 of 12
2005110,271Not reported12 of 12
2006111,067Not reported12 of 12
2007112,388Not reported12 of 12
2008127,462Not reported12 of 12
2009110,722Not reported12 of 12
2010145,81358.6%12 of 12
2011146,28358.8%12 of 12
201299,856Not reported12 of 12
2013123,04644.7%12 of 12
2014147,25553.5%12 of 12
2015133,40448.5%12 of 12
2016158,910Not reported12 of 12
2017156,271Not reported12 of 12
2018149,689Not reported12 of 12
2019184,90763.2%12 of 12
2020178,74960.9%12 of 12
2021145,11849.6%12 of 12
2022137,12946.9%12 of 12
2023131,02544.8%12 of 12
2024143,78249.0%12 of 12
2025152,86452.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric3.5October 1915
2Conventional Hydroelectric4.3December 1915
3Conventional Hydroelectric4.8March 1920
4Conventional Hydroelectric4.8February 1922
5Conventional Hydroelectric4.0March 1938
6Conventional Hydroelectric4.0March 1938
7Conventional Hydroelectric4.0November 1940
8Conventional Hydroelectric4.0October 1940

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Wisconsin Power & Light Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Prairie Du Sac and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Prairie Du Sac

More plants operated by Wisconsin Power & Light Co

Questions about Prairie Du Sac

How much power does Prairie Du Sac produce?

Prairie Du Sac reported 152,864 MWh (153 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 52.2% capacity factor on 33.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Prairie Du Sac?

Prairie Du Sac is in Sauk County, Wisconsin, at 43.3099, −89.7278. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Prairie Du Sac?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Wisconsin Power & Light Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 20856). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Prairie Du Sac start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 1915, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Prairie Du Sac?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Prairie Du Sac, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page