HydroOperatingPJM

Halifax (VA)

Hydro power plant in Halifax County, Virginia. 1.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Banister Hydro LP.

Also known as Banister Power Station · Halifax Power Plant · EIA plant 50178

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Crystal Hill SolarSunnybrook Solar Project - HybridHalifax County BiomassHalifax CSG LLCWatlington SolarPiney Creek SolarHalifax (VA)5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 14 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1.6 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1915First generator online
Operator
Banister Hydro LPEIA operator ID 56843
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Halifax County, VA36.7817, −78.9236
EIA plant ID
50178EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Halifax (VA) produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

811 MWh

811 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

5.8%

2024: 10.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.8–4.2

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20011,841Not reported12 of 12
20021,868Not reported12 of 12
20036,321Not reported12 of 12
20044,701Not reported12 of 12
20053,593Not reported12 of 12
20062,671Not reported12 of 12
20072,457Not reported12 of 12
20082,074Not reported12 of 12
20093,331Not reported12 of 12
20103,05121.8%12 of 12
20111,95814.0%12 of 12
20121,3869.9%12 of 12
20131,3389.5%12 of 12
20141,89513.5%12 of 12
20152,65118.9%12 of 12
20163,88727.7%12 of 12
20172,66719.0%12 of 12
20183,28223.4%12 of 12
20192,18815.6%12 of 12
20204,20229.9%12 of 12
20213,15022.5%12 of 12
20221,39510.0%12 of 12
20231,0857.7%12 of 12
20241,44310.3%12 of 12
20258115.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Conventional Hydroelectric0.8January 1915
GEN2Conventional Hydroelectric0.4January 1915
GEN3Conventional Hydroelectric0.4January 1915

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Banister Hydro LP as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Halifax (VA) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Halifax (VA)

Questions about Halifax (VA)

How much power does Halifax (VA) produce?

Halifax (VA) reported 811 MWh (811 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 5.8% capacity factor on 1.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Halifax (VA)?

Halifax (VA) is in Halifax County, Virginia, at 36.7817, −78.9236. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Halifax (VA)?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Banister Hydro LP as the operator (EIA operator ID 56843). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Halifax (VA) start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1915, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page