Natural gasOilOperatingPJM

University of Notre Dame

Natural gas power plant in St Joseph County, Indiana. 37.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 10 generators, operated by University of Notre Dame.

Also known as Notre Dame Power Plant · EIA plant 50366

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Notre Dame HydroTwin Branch PVTwin BranchSt. Joseph SolarFrench Paper HydroSoutheast Berrien Generating FacilityUniversity of Notre Dame5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
37.6 MWNatural gas 31.9 · Oil 5.7
Generators
10 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1952First generator online
Operator
University of Notre DameEIA operator ID 19564
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
St Joseph County, IN41.7094, −86.2367
EIA plant ID
50366EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power University of Notre Dame produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

Not reported

Not reported MWh, final. 0 of 12 months reported

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: 26.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2024

65.8–91.7

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200169,027Not reported12 of 12
200279,761Not reported12 of 12
200386Not reported12 of 12
200475,047Not reported12 of 12
200571,634Not reported12 of 12
200644,928Not reported7 of 12
200779,036Not reported12 of 12
200860,305Not reported9 of 12
200951,920Not reported8 of 12
201076,80130.4%12 of 12
201170,52728.0%12 of 12
201271,82028.4%12 of 12
201369,87627.7%12 of 12
201469,69727.6%12 of 12
201565,844Not reported12 of 12
201672,72828.7%12 of 12
201779,41331.5%12 of 12
201879,84031.6%12 of 12
201948,60927.8%6 of 12
202079,969Not reported12 of 12
202172,97521.0%12 of 12
202278,92522.8%12 of 12
2023Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
202491,73826.4%12 of 12
2025Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Natural Gas Steam Turbine3.0June 1962
GEN2Natural Gas Steam Turbine1.7July 1952
GEN5Natural Gas Steam Turbine2.0September 1956
GEN6Natural Gas Steam Turbine5.0February 1967
GEN7Natural Gas Steam Turbine9.4March 2000
GEN8Petroleum Liquids1.9October 2006
GEN9Petroleum Liquids1.9October 2006
GN10Petroleum Liquids1.9October 2006
GT1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine5.4June 2019
GT2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine5.4June 2019

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists University of Notre Dame as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query University of Notre Dame and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near University of Notre Dame

More plants operated by University of Notre Dame

Questions about University of Notre Dame

Where is University of Notre Dame?

University of Notre Dame is in St Joseph County, Indiana, at 41.7094, −86.2367. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates University of Notre Dame?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists University of Notre Dame as the operator (EIA operator ID 19564). The operator is not always the owner.

When did University of Notre Dame start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1952, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page