Wood biomassOperatingSOCO

Flint River Operations

Wood biomass power plant in Macon County, Georgia. 77 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by GFC - Flint River Mill.

Also known as EIA plant 50465

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

CPV Stagecoach SolarFreeman AvenueBrady Solar LLCFort Valley State Uni…SR PerryWhite Pine Solar, LLCFlint River Operations20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 33 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
77 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1980First generator online
Operator
GFC - Flint River MillEIA operator ID 61982
Grid
SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Macon County, GA32.2544, −84.0667
EIA plant ID
50465EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Flint River Operations produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

440 GWh

440,367 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

65.3%

2024: 64.2%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

40.3–473.6

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001290,832Not reported12 of 12
2002294,146Not reported12 of 12
20030Not reported10 of 12
2004266,231Not reported12 of 12
2005261,754Not reported11 of 12
2006285,643Not reported12 of 12
2007294,835Not reported12 of 12
2008220,449Not reported12 of 12
2009212,201Not reported12 of 12
2010205,17655.8%12 of 12
2011209,13756.8%12 of 12
2012204,27155.4%12 of 12
2013213,16657.9%12 of 12
2014212,87957.9%12 of 12
2015427,367Not reported12 of 12
2016169,08722.6%12 of 12
2017457,62961.4%12 of 12
2018437,45558.7%12 of 12
2019443,06559.4%12 of 12
2020473,55563.4%12 of 12
2021458,21261.5%12 of 12
2022450,29260.4%12 of 12
202340,319Not reported12 of 12
2024433,92564.2%12 of 12
2025440,36765.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Wood/Wood Waste Biomass42.0December 1980
GEN2Wood/Wood Waste Biomass35.0April 2015

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists GFC - Flint River Mill as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Flint River Operations and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Flint River Operations

Questions about Flint River Operations

How much power does Flint River Operations produce?

Flint River Operations reported 440,367 MWh (440 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 65.3% capacity factor on 77 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Flint River Operations?

Flint River Operations is in Macon County, Georgia, at 32.2544, −84.0667. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).

Who operates Flint River Operations?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists GFC - Flint River Mill as the operator (EIA operator ID 61982). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Flint River Operations start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1980, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page