Covanta Bristol Energy
Municipal solid waste power plant in Hartford County, Connecticut. 16.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Covanta Bristol Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 50648
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 16.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 1987First generator online
- Operator
- Covanta Bristol IncEIA operator ID 4474
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Hartford County, CT41.6492, −72.9153
- EIA plant ID
- 50648EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Covanta Bristol Energy produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
109 GWh
109,350 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
76.6%
2024: 76.2%
January to July 2026
59.9 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
89.7–109.4
GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 46,271 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2002 | 110,787 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 128,853 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 114,822 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 111,189 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 107,933 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 104,958 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 99,783 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 107,560 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 108,393 | 75.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 98,188 | 68.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 103,291 | 72.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 105,667 | 74.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 103,414 | 72.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 108,604 | 76.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 106,849 | 74.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 104,500 | 73.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 89,723 | 62.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 101,801 | 71.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 103,887 | 72.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 103,215 | 72.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 100,776 | 70.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 103,737 | 72.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 109,052 | 76.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 109,350 | 76.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 59,911 | 72.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Municipal Solid Waste | 16.3 | December 1987 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Covanta Bristol Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Covanta Bristol Energy and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Covanta Bristol Energy
Questions about Covanta Bristol Energy
How much power does Covanta Bristol Energy produce?
Covanta Bristol Energy reported 109,350 MWh (109 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 76.6% capacity factor on 16.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 59.9 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Covanta Bristol Energy?
Covanta Bristol Energy is in Hartford County, Connecticut, at 41.6492, −72.9153. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates Covanta Bristol Energy?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Covanta Bristol Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 4474). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Covanta Bristol Energy start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 1987, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Covanta Bristol Energy?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Covanta Bristol Energy, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page