HydroOperating

Wailuku River Hydroelectric

Hydro power plant in Hawaii County, Hawaii. 10.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Wailuku Holding Company LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 54827

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

PuueoKanoelehuaW H HillPunaMauna Loa Macadamia NutWailuku River Hydroel…5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 16 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
10.4 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 1993First generator online
Operator
Wailuku Holding Company LLCEIA operator ID 54809
Grid
Not reported
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Hawaii County, HI19.7130, −155.1486
EIA plant ID
54827EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Wailuku River Hydroelectric produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

14.1 GWh

14,082 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

15.5%

2024: 32.7%

January to July 2026

26.5 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

14.1–43.4

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200132,150Not reported12 of 12
200226,307Not reported12 of 12
200322,984Not reported12 of 12
200424,270Not reported12 of 12
200533,411Not reported12 of 12
200631,472Not reported12 of 12
200727,285Not reported12 of 12
200817,891Not reported12 of 12
200930,733Not reported12 of 12
201011,88713.0%12 of 12
201124,56927.0%12 of 12
201226,93329.5%12 of 12
201315,12916.6%12 of 12
201418,18520.0%12 of 12
201540,88144.9%12 of 12
201636,28839.7%12 of 12
201719,46621.4%12 of 12
201842,43046.6%12 of 12
201923,95126.3%12 of 12
202023,23725.4%12 of 12
202134,08437.4%12 of 12
202243,41747.7%12 of 12
202320,33322.3%12 of 12
202429,90032.7%12 of 12
202514,08215.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)26,52850.1%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
8101Conventional Hydroelectric5.2May 1993
8102Conventional Hydroelectric5.2May 1993

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Wailuku Holding Company LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Wailuku River Hydroelectric and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Wailuku River Hydroelectric

Questions about Wailuku River Hydroelectric

How much power does Wailuku River Hydroelectric produce?

Wailuku River Hydroelectric reported 14,082 MWh (14.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 15.5% capacity factor on 10.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 26.5 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Wailuku River Hydroelectric?

Wailuku River Hydroelectric is in Hawaii County, Hawaii, at 19.7130, −155.1486.

Who operates Wailuku River Hydroelectric?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Wailuku Holding Company LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 54809). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Wailuku River Hydroelectric start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 1993, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page