Natural gasOperatingMISO

Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station

Natural gas power plant in Lake County, Indiana. 90 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Northlake Energy.

Also known as EIA plant 54995

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Indiana Harbor WestWhiting Clean EnergyIndiana Harbor E 5 AC…2 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 5.1 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
90 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 1996First generator online
Operator
Northlake EnergyEIA operator ID 13765
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Lake County, IN41.6844, −87.4214
EIA plant ID
54995EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

649 GWh

648,806 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

82.3%

2024: 82.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

336.1–663.0

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000444,470Not reported12 of 12
2001429,856Not reported12 of 12
2002384,607Not reported12 of 12
2003329,160Not reported12 of 12
2004574,533Not reported12 of 12
2005535,526Not reported12 of 12
2006487,133Not reported12 of 12
2007388,332Not reported12 of 12
2008422,397Not reported12 of 12
2009342,036Not reported12 of 12
2010436,91460.9%12 of 12
2011397,32455.4%12 of 12
2012427,41459.4%12 of 12
2013594,517Not reported12 of 12
2014417,61053.0%12 of 12
2015545,45369.2%12 of 12
2016621,49378.6%12 of 12
2017336,12842.6%12 of 12
2018574,51072.9%12 of 12
2019623,82179.1%12 of 12
2020475,66760.2%12 of 12
2021497,88163.2%12 of 12
2022542,39868.8%12 of 12
2023663,04884.1%12 of 12
2024655,07982.9%12 of 12
2025648,80682.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
17TGOther Gases90.0May 1996

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Northlake Energy as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station

Questions about Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station

How much power does Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station produce?

Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station reported 648,806 MWh (649 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 82.3% capacity factor on 90 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station?

Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station is in Lake County, Indiana, at 41.6844, −87.4214. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Northlake Energy as the operator (EIA operator ID 13765). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Indiana Harbor E 5 AC Station start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 1996, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page