Mustang Station
Natural gas power plant in Yoakum County, Texas. 521 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 55065
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 521 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 1999First generator online
- Operator
- Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, IncEIA operator ID 7349
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Yoakum County, TX32.9728, −102.7417
- EIA plant ID
- 55065EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Mustang Station produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.50 TWh
2,496,112 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
54.7%
2024: 50.5%
January to July 2026
1.25 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.4–2.5
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 2,589,811 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,470,271 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 2,844,268 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 2,787,071 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 3,116,836 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 3,109,718 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 2,410,483 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,388,045 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,657,023 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,491,429 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,010,427 | 44.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,545,585 | 55.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,633,738 | 57.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,906,186 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,213,704 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 421,226 | 9.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,964,749 | 42.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,793,555 | 39.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 2,085,579 | 45.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,419,793 | 53.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,874,324 | 41.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 579,911 | 12.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,213,349 | 26.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,085,870 | 45.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,313,081 | 50.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,496,112 | 54.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,249,423 | 47.1% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.16M
US short tons. 2024: 1.06M
SO₂, 2025
6
US short tons
NOx, 2025
438
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.46 t
About 928 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55065 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
162
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
162
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 0.948
USGS SUI, HUC12 Town of Denver City-McKenzie Draw
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 174.2 | June 1999 |
| GEN2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 174.2 | June 1999 |
| GEN3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 172.6 | April 2000 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Mustang Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Mustang Station
More plants operated by Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, Inc
Questions about Mustang Station
How much power does Mustang Station produce?
Mustang Station reported 2,496,112 MWh (2.50 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 54.7% capacity factor on 521 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.25 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Mustang Station?
Mustang Station is in Yoakum County, Texas, at 32.9728, −102.7417. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Mustang Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 7349). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Mustang Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 1999, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Mustang Station?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Mustang Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page