Natural gasOperatingCAISO

Desert Star Energy Center

Natural gas power plant in Clark County, Nevada. 366.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Desert Star Energy Center SDG&E.

Also known as EIA plant 55077

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

CM48Nevada Solar OneCopper Mountain Solar 5, LLCCopper Mountain Solar 2Desert Star1 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 2.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
366.4 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 2000First generator online
Operator
Desert Star Energy Center SDG&EEIA operator ID 5695
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Clark County, NV35.7889, −114.9942
EIA plant ID
55077EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Desert Star produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

375 GWh

375,029 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

8.0%

2024: 21.7%

January to July 2026

239 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.4–2.2

TWh a year. Low 2025, high 2015

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20002,126,767Not reported12 of 12
20012,066,840Not reported12 of 12
20023,326,924Not reported12 of 12
20033,240,818Not reported12 of 12
20043,002,201Not reported12 of 12
20053,350,510Not reported12 of 12
20063,533,824Not reported12 of 12
20072,501,889Not reported12 of 12
20083,546,627Not reported12 of 12
20093,275,785Not reported12 of 12
20103,070,079Not reported12 of 12
20112,750,83758.6%12 of 12
20122,441,95951.9%12 of 12
20132,763,077Not reported12 of 12
20141,539,12132.8%12 of 12
20152,184,48846.5%12 of 12
20161,223,03426.0%12 of 12
20171,051,94722.4%12 of 12
20181,659,92235.4%12 of 12
20191,314,50228.0%12 of 12
20201,021,280Not reported12 of 12
2021999,26421.2%12 of 12
20221,519,88332.3%12 of 12
20231,647,41135.0%12 of 12
20241,023,12321.7%12 of 12
2025375,0298.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)238,6668.7%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

174,926

US short tons. 2024: 433,256

SO₂, 2025

1

US short tons

NOx, 2025

17

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.47 t

About 933 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (EDE1, EDE2), matched to EIA plant 55077 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

Not reported

million gallons as reported; not used, see note

Consumption, 2024

Not reported

million gallons

Source

Not reported

Dry cooling

Watershed stress

Low · 0.205

USGS SUI, HUC12 Desert Queen Well

0 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Dry cooling with no reported withdrawal; not tested. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
ED01Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle170.9May 2000
ED03Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle195.5May 2000

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Desert Star Energy Center SDG&E as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Desert Star Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Desert Star

Questions about Desert Star

How much power does Desert Star Energy Center produce?

Desert Star Energy Center reported 375,029 MWh (375 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 8.0% capacity factor on 366.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 239 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Desert Star Energy Center?

Desert Star Energy Center is in Clark County, Nevada, at 35.7889, −114.9942. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Desert Star Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Desert Star Energy Center SDG&E as the operator (EIA operator ID 5695). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Desert Star Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 2000, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Desert Star Energy Center?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Desert Star Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page