Natural gasOperatingPJM

NRG Rockford I

Natural gas power plant in Winnebago County, Illinois. 316 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Rockford Generation LLC.

Also known as NRG Rockford I Power Plant · EIA plant 55238

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Kishwaukee CHP PlantSlidematic at RockfordRockford SolarRockford PlantRock Cut SolarNRG Rockford I2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 6.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
316 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 2000First generator online
Operator
Rockford Generation LLCEIA operator ID 60504
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Winnebago County, IL42.2386, −89.1012
EIA plant ID
55238EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power NRG Rockford I produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

107 GWh

106,527 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

3.8%

2024: 2.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

74.2–264.3

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2021

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200037,251Not reported12 of 12
200141,488Not reported12 of 12
2002106,381Not reported12 of 12
200317,478Not reported12 of 12
200427,592Not reported12 of 12
200528,751Not reported12 of 12
200630,925Not reported12 of 12
200735,157Not reported12 of 12
200820,711Not reported12 of 12
200911,837Not reported12 of 12
201010,4990.4%12 of 12
201133,890Not reported12 of 12
201244,330Not reported12 of 12
201333,0381.2%12 of 12
201435,4791.3%12 of 12
2015135,4594.9%12 of 12
2016164,9185.9%12 of 12
201774,2012.7%12 of 12
2018191,5936.9%12 of 12
2019132,2194.8%12 of 12
2020129,2474.7%12 of 12
2021264,296Not reported12 of 12
202279,2382.9%12 of 12
2023107,0863.9%12 of 12
202480,3092.9%12 of 12
2025106,5273.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

64,225

US short tons. 2024: 48,893

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

21

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.60 t

About 1,206 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55238 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
0001Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine158.0June 2000
0002Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine158.0June 2000

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Rockford Generation LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query NRG Rockford I and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near NRG Rockford I

More plants operated by Rockford Generation LLC

Questions about NRG Rockford I

How much power does NRG Rockford I produce?

NRG Rockford I reported 106,527 MWh (107 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 3.8% capacity factor on 316 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is NRG Rockford I?

NRG Rockford I is in Winnebago County, Illinois, at 42.2386, −89.1012. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates NRG Rockford I?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Rockford Generation LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 60504). The operator is not always the owner.

When did NRG Rockford I start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 2000, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for NRG Rockford I?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to NRG Rockford I, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page