Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant
Natural gas power plant in Cumberland County, Maine. 563.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Westbrook Energy Center.
Also known as Westbrook Energy Center · EIA plant 55294
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 563.9 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2001First generator online
- Operator
- Westbrook Energy CenterEIA operator ID 2891
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 2 ISONE nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Cumberland County, ME43.6575, −70.3750
- EIA plant ID
- 55294EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Westbrook Energy Center produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.39 TWh
3,387,942 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
68.6%
2024: 61.0%
January to July 2026
1.91 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.0–3.4
TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,736,226 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 3,932,713 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 3,250,569 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 3,430,642 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 3,457,627 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 3,219,462 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,392,906 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,698,596 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,497,380 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,689,175 | 54.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,659,935 | 53.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,446,083 | 49.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,372,883 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,838,911 | 37.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,848,004 | 37.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,183,067 | 44.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,343,470 | 27.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,488,109 | 30.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 957,055 | 19.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,011,029 | 20.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,876,320 | 38.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,461,720 | 49.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,356,897 | 47.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,022,422 | 61.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,387,942 | 68.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,907,594 | 66.5% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.36M
US short tons. 2024: 1.21M
SO₂, 2025
7
US short tons
NOx, 2025
128
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.40 t
About 801 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55294 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
613
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
527
million gallons
Source
MUNICIPAL SUPPLY
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.146
USGS SUI, HUC12 Stroudwater River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 184.2 | May 2001 |
| GTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 184.2 | May 2001 |
| STG3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 195.5 | May 2001 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Westbrook Energy Center as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Westbrook Energy Center
Questions about Westbrook Energy Center
How much power does Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant produce?
Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant reported 3,387,942 MWh (3.39 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 68.6% capacity factor on 563.9 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.91 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant?
Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant is in Cumberland County, Maine, at 43.6575, −70.3750. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Westbrook Energy Center as the operator (EIA operator ID 2891). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Westbrook Energy Center Power Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page