WindOperatingPJM

Mountaineer Wind Energy Center

Wind power plant in Tucker County, West Virginia. 66 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Sequitur Renewables, LLC.

Also known as Mountaineer Wind Energy Center (Thomas) · EIA plant 55986

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Roth Rock Wind Farm LLCRoth Rock North Wind Farm, LLCMt StormMD CDG 002TPE MD GA140Mountaineer10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 26 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
66 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 2002First generator online
Operator
Sequitur Renewables, LLCEIA operator ID 65240
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
1 PJM nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Tucker County, WV39.1828, −79.5372
EIA plant ID
55986EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Mountaineer produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

113 GWh

113,497 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

19.6%

2024: 11.5%

January to July 2026

64.3 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

53.8–156.4

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20029,023Not reported1 of 12
2003169,762Not reported12 of 12
2004161,191Not reported12 of 12
2005153,892Not reported12 of 12
2006173,757Not reported12 of 12
2007167,588Not reported12 of 12
2008169,439Not reported12 of 12
2009163,003Not reported12 of 12
2010146,36025.3%12 of 12
2011165,23028.6%12 of 12
2012138,97224.0%12 of 12
2013166,78028.8%12 of 12
2014145,43925.2%12 of 12
201589,04915.4%12 of 12
2016111,31919.2%12 of 12
2017156,42127.1%12 of 12
2018146,48325.3%12 of 12
2019130,64222.6%12 of 12
2020133,76823.1%12 of 12
202191,21915.8%12 of 12
202284,92514.7%12 of 12
202353,7689.3%12 of 12
202466,47311.5%12 of 12
2025113,49719.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)64,28019.1%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
WT1Onshore Wind Turbine66.0December 2002

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Sequitur Renewables, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Mountaineer Wind Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Mountaineer

More plants operated by Sequitur Renewables, LLC

Questions about Mountaineer

How much power does Mountaineer Wind Energy Center produce?

Mountaineer Wind Energy Center reported 113,497 MWh (113 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 19.6% capacity factor on 66 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 64.3 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Mountaineer Wind Energy Center?

Mountaineer Wind Energy Center is in Tucker County, West Virginia, at 39.1828, −79.5372. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Mountaineer Wind Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Sequitur Renewables, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 65240). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Mountaineer Wind Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 2002, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Mountaineer Wind Energy Center?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Mountaineer Wind Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page