CPV Towantic Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in New Haven County, Connecticut. 841.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by CPV Towantic, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 56047
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 841.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2018First generator online
- Operator
- CPV Towantic, LLCEIA operator ID 19002
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 2 ISONE nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- New Haven County, CT41.4812, −73.1231
- EIA plant ID
- 56047EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power CPV Towantic produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.81 TWh
4,812,468 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
65.3%
2024: 75.5%
January to July 2026
3.46 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2019 to 2025
3.9–5.6
TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | 2,948,775 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,867,768 | 52.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,323,727 | 72.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 5,553,265 | 75.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,953,101 | 67.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 5,534,072 | 75.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 5,581,237 | 75.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 4,812,468 | 65.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,460,509 | 80.8% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.88M
US short tons. 2024: 2.15M
SO₂, 2025
10
US short tons
NOx, 2025
121
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.39 t
About 780 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 56047 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
Not reported
million gallons as reported; not used, see note
Consumption, 2024
Not reported
million gallons
Source
N/A
Dry cooling
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.192
USGS SUI, HUC12 Little River
0 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Dry cooling with no reported withdrawal; not tested. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 280.5 | May 2018 |
| CTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 280.5 | May 2018 |
| STG | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 280.5 | May 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists CPV Towantic, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query CPV Towantic Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near CPV Towantic
Questions about CPV Towantic
How much power does CPV Towantic Energy Center produce?
CPV Towantic Energy Center reported 4,812,468 MWh (4.81 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 65.3% capacity factor on 841.5 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.46 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is CPV Towantic Energy Center?
CPV Towantic Energy Center is in New Haven County, Connecticut, at 41.4812, −73.1231. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates CPV Towantic Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists CPV Towantic, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 19002). The operator is not always the owner.
When did CPV Towantic Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2018, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for CPV Towantic Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to CPV Towantic Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page