Mankato Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. 740.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by MEC Holdings, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 56104
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 740.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2006First generator online
- Operator
- MEC Holdings, LLCEIA operator ID 63705
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 2 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Blue Earth County, MN44.1988, −94.0030
- EIA plant ID
- 56104EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Mankato produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.50 TWh
2,503,669 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.6%
2024: 41.7%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.5–2.9
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2021
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | 286,239 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2007 | 699,543 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 208,352 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2009 | 122,105 | Not reported | 4 of 12 |
| 2010 | 513,284 | 11.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 19,448 | 4.9% | 1 of 12 |
| 2012 | 433,010 | 10.2% | 11 of 12 |
| 2013 | 597,813 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 355,278 | 7.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 460,470 | 9.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 860,968 | 18.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 696,663 | 15.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 486,335 | 10.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,054,197 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,829,932 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,876,419 | 44.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,753,840 | 27.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,638,848 | 40.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,714,595 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,503,669 | 38.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.14M
US short tons. 2024: 1.22M
SO₂, 2025
6
US short tons
NOx, 2025
77
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.46 t
About 912 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT-1, CT-2), matched to EIA plant 56104 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
774
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
543
million gallons
Source
City of Mankato POTW
Discharge, Reclaimed. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.233
USGS SUI, HUC12 City of Mankato-Minnesota River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Reclaimed water or plant effluent; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 188.7 | June 2019 |
| CTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | July 2006 |
| STG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 360.0 | July 2006 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists MEC Holdings, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Mankato Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Mankato
Questions about Mankato
How much power does Mankato Energy Center produce?
Mankato Energy Center reported 2,503,669 MWh (2.50 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.6% capacity factor on 740.8 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Mankato Energy Center?
Mankato Energy Center is in Blue Earth County, Minnesota, at 44.1988, −94.0030. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Mankato Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists MEC Holdings, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 63705). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Mankato Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2006, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Mankato Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Mankato Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page