TS Power Plant
Coal and solar power plant in Eureka County, Nevada. 442 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Nevada Gold Energy, LLC.
Also known as Newmont TS Solid-Fuel Power Plant · EIA plant 56224
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 442 MWCoal 242.0 · Solar 200.0
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 2008First generator online
- Operator
- Nevada Gold Energy, LLCEIA operator ID 49896
- Grid
- NEVPBalancing authority NEVP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Eureka County, NV40.7461, −116.5297
- EIA plant ID
- 56224EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power TS produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.72 TWh
1,717,988 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
44.4%
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
875 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.9–1.7
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | 931,882 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,169,957 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,416,405 | 66.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,319,107 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 1,120,719 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,395,060 | 65.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,424,286 | 67.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 856,756 | 40.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 890,722 | 41.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 967,831 | 45.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,045,367 | 49.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,049,081 | 49.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,027,271 | 48.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,192,341 | 56.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 46,502 | 25.8% | 1 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,085,753 | 51.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,061,777 | Not reported | 9 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,717,988 | 44.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 875,228 | 38.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.43M
US short tons. 2024: 1.29M
SO₂, 2025
179
US short tons
NOx, 2025
337
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.83 t
About 1,667 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1), matched to EIA plant 56224 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
312
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
264
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 0.912
USGS SUI, HUC12 Mack Creek-Sheep Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 001 | Conventional Steam Coal | 242.0 | June 2008 |
| SOL1 | Solar Photovoltaic | 100.0 | April 2024 |
| SOL2 | Solar Photovoltaic | 100.0 | September 2024 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Nevada Gold Energy, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query TS Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near TS
Questions about TS
How much power does TS Power Plant produce?
TS Power Plant reported 1,717,988 MWh (1.72 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 44.4% capacity factor on 442 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 875 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is TS Power Plant?
TS Power Plant is in Eureka County, Nevada, at 40.7461, −116.5297. It is in the Nevada Power Company balancing area (NEVP).
Who operates TS Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Nevada Gold Energy, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 49896). The operator is not always the owner.
Is TS Power Plant a coal or a solar plant?
Both. Coal capacity totals 242 MW and solar capacity totals 200 MW.
When did TS Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 2008, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page