Landfill gasOperatingPJM

Bavarian LFGTE

Landfill gas power plant in Boone County, Kentucky. 4.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by East Kentucky Power Coop, Inc.

Also known as EIA plant 56277

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Walton 1 Solar FacilityCrittenden Solar FacilityL'Oreal Solar - FlorenceEast BendAero Solar FacilityBavarian LFGTE10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 19 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
4.8 MWNameplate
Generators
5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 2003First generator online
Operator
East Kentucky Power Coop, IncEIA operator ID 5580
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Boone County, KY38.8608, −84.6556
EIA plant ID
56277EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Bavarian LFGTE produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

30.9 GWh

30,882 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

73.4%

2024: 68.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

22.7–36.1

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200424,699Not reported12 of 12
200525,502Not reported12 of 12
200625,880Not reported12 of 12
200725,505Not reported12 of 12
200827,142Not reported12 of 12
200926,175Not reported12 of 12
201025,99592.7%12 of 12
201126,48994.5%12 of 12
201224,60987.5%12 of 12
201324,53687.5%12 of 12
201422,76181.2%12 of 12
201522,74281.1%12 of 12
201626,720Not reported12 of 12
201736,11885.9%12 of 12
201833,08178.7%12 of 12
201929,62270.4%12 of 12
202033,10678.5%12 of 12
202131,06673.9%12 of 12
202230,33172.1%12 of 12
202327,88766.3%12 of 12
202428,69668.1%12 of 12
202530,88273.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Landfill Gas0.8September 2003
2Landfill Gas0.8September 2003
3Landfill Gas0.8September 2003
4Landfill Gas0.8September 2003
5Landfill Gas1.6October 2016

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists East Kentucky Power Coop, Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Bavarian LFGTE and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Bavarian LFGTE

More plants operated by East Kentucky Power Coop, Inc

Questions about Bavarian LFGTE

How much power does Bavarian LFGTE produce?

Bavarian LFGTE reported 30,882 MWh (30.9 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 73.4% capacity factor on 4.8 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Bavarian LFGTE?

Bavarian LFGTE is in Boone County, Kentucky, at 38.8608, −84.6556. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Bavarian LFGTE?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists East Kentucky Power Coop, Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 5580). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Bavarian LFGTE start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 2003, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page