Treasure Coast Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in St Lucie County, Florida. 411.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Fort Pierce Utilities Authority.
Also known as EIA plant 56400
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 411.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2008First generator online
- Operator
- Fort Pierce Utilities AuthorityEIA operator ID 6616
- Grid
- FMPPBalancing authority FMPP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- St Lucie County, FL27.3839, −80.3775
- EIA plant ID
- 56400EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Treasure Coast produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.75 TWh
1,747,585 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
48.5%
2024: 50.9%
January to July 2026
664 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
1.7–2.0
TWh a year. Low 2025, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,594,879 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,753,381 | 48.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,703,380 | 47.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 128,642 | 42.0% | 1 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,797,084 | 49.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,862,817 | 51.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,645,111 | 49.9% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,774,258 | 49.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,838,986 | 51.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,847,869 | 51.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,787,745 | 49.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,876,147 | 51.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,839,118 | 51.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,972,255 | 54.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,789,325 | 49.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,839,311 | 50.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,747,585 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 664,418 | 31.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
773,246
US short tons. 2024: 833,336
SO₂, 2025
4
US short tons
NOx, 2025
35
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.44 t
About 885 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1), matched to EIA plant 56400 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
544
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
411
million gallons
Source
Well Water + Treated Effluent
Ground, Saline. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.334
USGS SUI, HUC12 North Fork Saint Lucie River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Saline, brackish or ocean intake; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 219.6 | May 2008 |
| ST1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 191.8 | May 2008 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Fort Pierce Utilities Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Treasure Coast Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Treasure Coast
Questions about Treasure Coast
How much power does Treasure Coast Energy Center produce?
Treasure Coast Energy Center reported 1,747,585 MWh (1.75 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 48.5% capacity factor on 411.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 664 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Treasure Coast Energy Center?
Treasure Coast Energy Center is in St Lucie County, Florida, at 27.3839, −80.3775. It is in the Florida Municipal Power Pool balancing area (FMPP).
Who operates Treasure Coast Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Fort Pierce Utilities Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 6616). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Treasure Coast Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2008, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page