WindOperatingSPP

Buffalo Dunes Wind Project

Wind power plant in Haskell County, Kansas. 249.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Buffalo Dunes Wind Project LLC.

Also known as Buffalo Dunes · EIA plant 58474

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

RubartHolcombGarden CityJameson Energy CenterHugoton 2Buffalo Dunes Wind Project25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 56 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
249.8 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 2013First generator online
Operator
Buffalo Dunes Wind Project LLCEIA operator ID 58461
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Haskell County, KS37.6208, −101.0761
EIA plant ID
58474EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Buffalo Dunes Wind Project produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

785 GWh

785,223 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

35.9%

2024: 39.5%

January to July 2026

478 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

785.2–973.8

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20130Not reported1 of 12
2014817,09237.3%12 of 12
2015897,21041.0%12 of 12
2016919,20141.9%12 of 12
2017813,92237.2%12 of 12
2018918,16642.0%12 of 12
2019875,92240.0%12 of 12
2020973,77244.4%12 of 12
2021908,33141.5%12 of 12
2022968,00144.2%12 of 12
2023797,46836.4%12 of 12
2024866,93939.5%12 of 12
2025785,22335.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)478,33037.6%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GE1Onshore Wind Turbine249.8December 2013

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Buffalo Dunes Wind Project LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Buffalo Dunes Wind Project and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Buffalo Dunes Wind Project

Questions about Buffalo Dunes Wind Project

How much power does Buffalo Dunes Wind Project produce?

Buffalo Dunes Wind Project reported 785,223 MWh (785 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 35.9% capacity factor on 249.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 478 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Buffalo Dunes Wind Project?

Buffalo Dunes Wind Project is in Haskell County, Kansas, at 37.6208, −101.0761. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Buffalo Dunes Wind Project?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Buffalo Dunes Wind Project LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 58461). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Buffalo Dunes Wind Project start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 2013, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Buffalo Dunes Wind Project?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Buffalo Dunes Wind Project, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page