Natural gasOperatingISO-NE

UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell

Natural gas power plant in New Haven County, Connecticut. 2.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by United Illuminating Co.

Also known as EIA plant 60040

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

IKEA New Haven Roofto…Medtronic - New HavenMedtronic - New Haven 2Town of BranfordBranfordUI RCP New Haven Fuel…2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 8.7 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
2.8 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 2015First generator online
Operator
United Illuminating CoEIA operator ID 19497
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
New Haven County, CT41.2888, −72.8986
EIA plant ID
60040EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

15.7 GWh

15,710 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

64.0%

2024: 70.4%

January to July 2026

11.9 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2016 to 2025

15.3–21.9

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20157,472Not reported5 of 12
201620,97985.3%12 of 12
201721,92589.4%12 of 12
201818,77476.5%12 of 12
201918,04573.6%12 of 12
202018,89576.8%12 of 12
202117,68472.1%12 of 12
202215,25962.2%12 of 12
202320,58183.9%12 of 12
202417,31970.4%12 of 12
202515,71064.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)11,85083.2%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
NHFCOther Natural Gas2.8August 2015

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists United Illuminating Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell

More plants operated by United Illuminating Co

Questions about UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell

How much power does UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell produce?

UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell reported 15,710 MWh (15.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 64.0% capacity factor on 2.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 11.9 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell?

UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell is in New Haven County, Connecticut, at 41.2888, −72.8986. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists United Illuminating Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 19497). The operator is not always the owner.

When did UI RCP New Haven Fuel Cell start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 2015, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page