Owatonna Energy Station
Natural gas power plant in Steele County, Minnesota. 38.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Southern Minnesota Mun P Agny.
Also known as EIA plant 60254
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 38.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- March 2018First generator online
- Operator
- Southern Minnesota Mun P AgnyEIA operator ID 40580
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Steele County, MN44.0852, −93.2627
- EIA plant ID
- 60254EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Owatonna Energy Station produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.27 GWh
2,273 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.7%
2024: 3.9%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2019 to 2025
2.3–53.5
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | 37,107 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2019 | 28,370 | 8.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 24,196 | 7.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 32,424 | 9.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 33,109 | 9.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 53,532 | 15.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 13,363 | 3.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,273 | 0.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| UNIT1 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 9.7 | March 2018 |
| UNIT2 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 9.7 | March 2018 |
| UNIT3 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 9.7 | March 2018 |
| UNIT4 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 9.7 | March 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southern Minnesota Mun P Agny as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Owatonna Energy Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Owatonna Energy Station
More plants operated by Southern Minnesota Mun P Agny
Questions about Owatonna Energy Station
How much power does Owatonna Energy Station produce?
Owatonna Energy Station reported 2,273 MWh (2.27 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.7% capacity factor on 38.8 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Owatonna Energy Station?
Owatonna Energy Station is in Steele County, Minnesota, at 44.0852, −93.2627. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Owatonna Energy Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southern Minnesota Mun P Agny as the operator (EIA operator ID 40580). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Owatonna Energy Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in March 2018, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Owatonna Energy Station?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Owatonna Energy Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page