Battery storageOperatingPJM

McHenry Battery Storage

Battery storage project in McHenry County, Illinois. 20 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by McHenry Battery Storage.

Also known as EIA plant 60656

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Gracy Solar 1, LLCLilly Pond Road Solar 1, LLCRichmond SolarArmstrong 1McHenry Battery Storage5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
20 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
February 2016First generator online
Operator
McHenry Battery StorageEIA operator ID 65549
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
1 PJM nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
McHenry County, IL42.3314, −88.2743
EIA plant ID
60656EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power McHenry Battery Storage produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−4.48 GWh

−4,483 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

33.6 GWh

Charge 37.8 GWh

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2017 to 2025

−4.5–0.0

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016−3,444Not reported11 of 12
2017−2,759Not reported12 of 12
2018−2,002Not reported12 of 12
2019−170Not reported12 of 12
20200Not reported12 of 12
20210Not reported12 of 12
2022−33Not reported12 of 12
2023−30Not reported12 of 12
2024−282Not reported12 of 12
2025−4,483Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
MCH1Batteries20.0February 2016

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists McHenry Battery Storage as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query McHenry Battery Storage and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near McHenry Battery Storage

Questions about McHenry Battery Storage

How much power does McHenry Battery Storage produce?

McHenry Battery Storage reported −4,483 MWh (−4.48 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is McHenry Battery Storage?

McHenry Battery Storage is in McHenry County, Illinois, at 42.3314, −88.2744. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates McHenry Battery Storage?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists McHenry Battery Storage as the operator (EIA operator ID 65549). The operator is not always the owner.

When did McHenry Battery Storage start operating?

Its first generator began operating in February 2016, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for McHenry Battery Storage?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to McHenry Battery Storage, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page