Sherburne County
Coal power plant in Sherburne County, Minnesota. 1,704 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Northern States Power Co - Minnesota.
Also known as Sherco Power · EIA plant 6090
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,704 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 1976First generator online
- Operator
- Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaEIA operator ID 13781
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Sherburne County, MN45.3808, −93.8931
- EIA plant ID
- 6090EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Sherburne County produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
7.31 TWh
7,312,757 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
49.0%
2024: 42.4%
January to July 2026
3.26 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
6.3–12.5
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 13,408,914 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 14,651,019 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 15,346,040 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 15,727,397 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 15,555,955 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 13,584,052 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 15,650,260 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 15,873,253 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 14,249,392 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 15,321,593 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 13,458,461 | 63.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 13,000,105 | 61.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 8,234,518 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 8,804,711 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 13,324,305 | 61.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 12,160,150 | 56.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 11,767,030 | 54.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 11,888,101 | 55.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 12,477,637 | 57.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 10,752,654 | 49.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 8,752,989 | 40.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 9,201,847 | 42.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 9,802,293 | 45.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 6,708,539 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 6,341,929 | 42.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 7,312,757 | 49.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,260,108 | 37.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
8.24M
US short tons. 2024: 7.17M
SO₂, 2025
3,960
US short tons
NOx, 2025
5,187
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.13 t
About 2,253 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 6090 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
4,264
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
3,296
million gallons
Source
Mississippi River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.197
USGS SUI, HUC12 City of Becker-Mississippi River
12 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 765.3 | April 1976 |
| 3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 938.7 | October 1987 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Northern States Power Co - Minnesota as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Sherburne County and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Sherburne County
More plants operated by Northern States Power Co - Minnesota
Questions about Sherburne County
How much power does Sherburne County produce?
Sherburne County reported 7,312,757 MWh (7.31 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 49.0% capacity factor on 1,704 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.26 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Sherburne County?
Sherburne County is in Sherburne County, Minnesota, at 45.3808, −93.8931. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Sherburne County?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Northern States Power Co - Minnesota as the operator (EIA operator ID 13781). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Sherburne County start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 1976, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Sherburne County?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Sherburne County, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page