HydroOperatingNA

Toro Negro

Hydro power plant in Puerto Rico. 7.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Puerto Rico Electric Pwr Authority.

Also known as Toro Negro Hydro Station · EIA plant 61231

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Coto Laurel Solar FarmMartinoBaxter JayuyaPattern Santa Isabel LLCCaonillasToro Negro10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 24 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
7.1 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1937First generator online
Operator
Puerto Rico Electric Pwr AuthorityEIA operator ID 15497
Grid
NABalancing authority NA
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
PR18.1317, −66.4880
EIA plant ID
61231EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Toro Negro produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

4.03 GWh

4,030 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: Not reported

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2023 to 2025

4.0–5.3

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2022Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20235,333Not reported12 of 12
20244,747Not reported12 of 12
20254,030Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
2Conventional Hydroelectric1.4January 1937
3Conventional Hydroelectric1.4January 1937
4Conventional Hydroelectric4.3January 1937

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Puerto Rico Electric Pwr Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Toro Negro and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Toro Negro

More plants operated by Puerto Rico Electric Pwr Authority

Questions about Toro Negro

How much power does Toro Negro produce?

Toro Negro reported 4,030 MWh (4.03 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Toro Negro?

Toro Negro is in Puerto Rico, at 18.1317, −66.4880.

Who operates Toro Negro?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Puerto Rico Electric Pwr Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 15497). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Toro Negro start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1937, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page