Carters
Hydro and pumped storage power plant in Murray County, Georgia. 500 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by USCE-Mobile District.
Also known as Carters Dam · EIA plant 6130
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 500 MWHydro 250.0 · Pumped storage 250.0
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1975First generator online
- Operator
- USCE-Mobile DistrictEIA operator ID 27813
- Grid
- SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Murray County, GA34.6121, −84.6733
- EIA plant ID
- 6130EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Carters produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
30.2 GWh
30,171 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
−33.1 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
4.6–215.0
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 369,169 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 382,565 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 373,014 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 395,090 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 478,311 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 549,578 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 416,567 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 524,564 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 671,857 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,039,457 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 539,044 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 535,770 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 483,285 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 219,987 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 71,403 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 85,810 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 69,706 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,568 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 160,893 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 202,647 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 214,963 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 163,064 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 72,846 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 50,715 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 30,076 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 30,171 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | −33,060 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 125.0 | November 1975 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 125.0 | July 1975 |
| 3 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 125.0 | September 1977 |
| 4 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 125.0 | June 1977 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists USCE-Mobile District as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Carters and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Carters
More plants operated by USCE-Mobile District
Questions about Carters
How much power does Carters produce?
Carters reported 30,171 MWh (30.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported −33.1 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Carters?
Carters is in Murray County, Georgia, at 34.6121, −84.6733. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).
Who operates Carters?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists USCE-Mobile District as the operator (EIA operator ID 27813). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Carters a hydro or a pumped storage plant?
Both. Hydro capacity totals 250 MW and pumped storage capacity totals 250 MW.
When did Carters start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1975, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page