Rock Island
Hydro power plant in Chelan County, Washington. 514.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 15 generators, operated by PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA).
Also known as Rock Island Power Plant · EIA plant 6200
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 514.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 15 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1931First generator online
- Operator
- PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA)EIA operator ID 3413
- Grid
- CHPDBalancing authority CHPD
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Chelan County, WA47.3461, −120.0917
- EIA plant ID
- 6200EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Rock Island produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.23 TWh
2,226,611 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
40.4%
2024: 36.6%
January to July 2026
1.71 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.0–2.7
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 2,747,085 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 1,855,656 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 2,514,645 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 2,272,289 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 2,302,039 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,389,417 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 2,517,826 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,585,581 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,413,267 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,261,922 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,177,620 | 39.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,922,273 | 53.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,925,374 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,673,693 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,780,308 | 50.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,744,540 | 49.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,666,195 | 48.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,640,042 | 47.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 2,652,143 | 48.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,257,715 | 40.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,500,454 | 45.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,382,768 | 43.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,611,579 | 47.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,032,730 | 36.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,025,294 | 36.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,226,611 | 40.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,708,615 | 53.4% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | Conventional Hydroelectric | 1.2 | October 1931 |
| B-3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 20.7 | December 1932 |
| B-4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 20.7 | October 1932 |
| B-5 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 22.5 | September 1952 |
| B-6 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 22.5 | October 1952 |
| B-7 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 22.5 | November 1952 |
| B-9 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 22.5 | March 1953 |
| B-10 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 22.5 | April 1953 |
| U-1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | August 1979 |
| U-2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | June 1979 |
| U-3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | April 1979 |
| U-4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | February 1979 |
| U-6 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | October 1978 |
| U-7 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | August 1978 |
| U-8 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 51.3 | July 1978 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Rock Island and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Rock Island
More plants operated by PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA)
Questions about Rock Island
How much power does Rock Island produce?
Rock Island reported 2,226,611 MWh (2.23 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 40.4% capacity factor on 514.2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.71 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Rock Island?
Rock Island is in Chelan County, Washington, at 47.3461, −120.0917. It is in the Public Utility District No. 1 of Chelan County balancing area (CHPD).
Who operates Rock Island?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 3413). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Rock Island start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1931, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page