WindOperatingSPP

Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC

Wind power plant in Hand County, South Dakota. 200 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC.

Also known as Sweetland Wind Farm · Sweetland · EIA plant 66496

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Rolling Thunder Wind Farm HybridWessington SpringsPrairie Winds SD1South Dakota Wind Energy CenteSweetland Wind Farm25 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 58 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
200 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 2023First generator online
Operator
Sweetland Wind Farm, LLCEIA operator ID 65553
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Hand County, SD44.3868, −98.8011
EIA plant ID
66496EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Sweetland Wind Farm produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

765 GWh

765,372 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

43.7%

2024: 47.7%

January to July 2026

506 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2024 to 2025

765.4–837.8

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2022Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2023174,601Not reported3 of 12
2024837,76847.7%12 of 12
2025765,37243.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)505,84249.7%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
SLWOnshore Wind Turbine200.0October 2023

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Sweetland Wind Farm

Questions about Sweetland Wind Farm

How much power does Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC produce?

Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC reported 765,372 MWh (765 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 43.7% capacity factor on 200 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 506 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC?

Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC is in Hand County, South Dakota, at 44.3868, −98.8011. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 65553). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 2023, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Sweetland Wind Farm, LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page