Humpback Creek
Hydro power plant in Valdez Cordova, Alaska. 1.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Cordova Electric Coop, Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 7042
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 1991First generator online
- Operator
- Cordova Electric Coop, IncEIA operator ID 40215
- Grid
- Not reported
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Valdez Cordova, AK60.6128, −145.6794
- EIA plant ID
- 7042EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Humpback Creek produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.19 GWh
1,191 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
11.3%
2024: 19.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.2–3.7
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,623 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 1,890 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 1,729 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 2,100 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,200 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,526 | 14.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,477 | 33.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,510 | 33.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 3,100 | 29.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,051 | 29.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 3,743 | 35.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,035 | 28.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,267 | 31.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,158 | 30.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,877 | 27.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,248 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,327 | 22.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,950 | 28.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,005 | 19.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,191 | 11.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | June 1991 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | June 1991 |
| 3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.2 | June 1991 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Cordova Electric Coop, Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Humpback Creek and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Humpback Creek
More plants operated by Cordova Electric Coop, Inc
Questions about Humpback Creek
How much power does Humpback Creek produce?
Humpback Creek reported 1,191 MWh (1.19 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 11.3% capacity factor on 1.2 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Humpback Creek?
Humpback Creek is in Valdez Cordova, Alaska, at 60.6128, −145.6794.
Who operates Humpback Creek?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Cordova Electric Coop, Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 40215). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Humpback Creek start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 1991, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page