Lower Malad
Hydro power plant in Gooding County, Idaho. 13.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Idaho Power Co.
Also known as Lower Malad Power Plant · EIA plant 815
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 13.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1948First generator online
- Operator
- Idaho Power CoEIA operator ID 9191
- Grid
- IPCOBalancing authority IPCO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Gooding County, ID42.8658, −114.9062
- EIA plant ID
- 815EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Lower Malad produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
104 GWh
104,399 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
88.3%
2024: 86.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
92.9–106.8
GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 116,654 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 110,537 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 106,304 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 101,984 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 100,908 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 101,119 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 112,414 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 104,582 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 103,055 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 105,080 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 106,970 | 90.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 110,936 | 93.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 105,900 | 89.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 92,642 | 78.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 39,714 | 33.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 97,931 | 82.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 99,957 | 84.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 99,846 | 84.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 99,335 | 84.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 97,659 | 82.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 96,986 | 81.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 92,940 | 78.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 96,853 | 81.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 106,771 | 90.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 102,002 | 86.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 104,399 | 88.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 13.5 | October 1948 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Idaho Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Lower Malad and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Lower Malad
More plants operated by Idaho Power Co
Questions about Lower Malad
How much power does Lower Malad produce?
Lower Malad reported 104,399 MWh (104 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 88.3% capacity factor on 13.5 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Lower Malad?
Lower Malad is in Gooding County, Idaho, at 42.8658, −114.9062. It is in the Idaho Power Company balancing area (IPCO).
Who operates Lower Malad?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Idaho Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 9191). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Lower Malad start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1948, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Lower Malad?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Lower Malad, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page