CoalOperatingPJM

Powerton

Coal power plant in Tazewell County, Illinois. 1,785.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Midwest Generations EME LLC.

Also known as Powerton Generating Station · EIA plant 879

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

CED Peoria SolarPeoria County IL S2Pekin Community High SchoolSand Prairie SolarSchmidt Huser Solar, LLCPowerton5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 14 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1,785.6 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 1972First generator online
Operator
Midwest Generations EME LLCEIA operator ID 12384
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Tazewell County, IL40.5408, −89.6786
EIA plant ID
879EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Powerton produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

3.36 TWh

3,360,233 MWh, final. 11 of 12 months reported

Capacity factor, 2025

23.5%

2024: 14.2%

January to July 2026

1.94 TWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2024

0.8–5.6

TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2015

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20007,240,168Not reported12 of 12
20017,503,010Not reported12 of 12
20027,618,895Not reported12 of 12
20037,746,717Not reported11 of 12
20048,898,231Not reported12 of 12
20059,469,508Not reported12 of 12
20067,642,897Not reported12 of 12
20078,261,190Not reported12 of 12
20089,194,144Not reported12 of 12
20099,334,808Not reported12 of 12
20109,013,19957.6%12 of 12
20119,183,98158.7%12 of 12
20128,166,59152.1%12 of 12
20138,359,09853.4%12 of 12
20145,401,85951.4%8 of 12
20155,584,77635.7%12 of 12
20164,549,25229.0%12 of 12
20174,913,80031.4%12 of 12
20184,511,84928.8%12 of 12
20192,334,75114.9%12 of 12
2020844,7785.4%12 of 12
20212,701,32217.3%12 of 12
20225,094,90432.6%12 of 12
20231,337,6288.6%12 of 12
20242,220,80514.2%12 of 12
20253,360,23323.5%11 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)1,941,19121.4%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

4.66M

US short tons. 2024: 2.91M

SO₂, 2025

2,115

US short tons

NOx, 2025

2,158

US short tons

4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (51, 52, 61, 62), matched to EIA plant 879 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

203,688

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

4,897

million gallons

Source

Illinois River

Surface, Fresh. Recirculating with cooling pond

Watershed stress

Very low/none · 0.181

USGS SUI, HUC12 Pekin Lake-Illinois River

24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Cooling-pond plants report water circulated through the pond as withdrawal, so withdrawal is far above consumption. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
5Conventional Steam Coal892.8September 1972
6Conventional Steam Coal892.8December 1975

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Midwest Generations EME LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Powerton and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Powerton

More plants operated by Midwest Generations EME LLC

Questions about Powerton

How much power does Powerton produce?

Powerton reported 3,360,233 MWh (3.36 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 23.5% capacity factor on 1,785.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.94 TWh, which is provisional. 11 of 12 months were reported for 2025.

Where is Powerton?

Powerton is in Tazewell County, Illinois, at 40.5408, −89.6786. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Powerton?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Midwest Generations EME LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 12384). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Powerton start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 1972, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Powerton?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Powerton, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page