Cayuga
Coal power plant in Vermillion County, Indiana. 1,184.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 7 generators, operated by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC.
Also known as Cayuga Station · EIA plant 1001
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,184.9 MWCoal 1,062.0 · Natural gas 112.5 · Oil 10.4
- Generators
- 7 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1970First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Indiana, LLCEIA operator ID 15470
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 3 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Vermillion County, IN39.9242, −87.4244
- EIA plant ID
- 1001EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Cayuga produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.01 TWh
4,009,989 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.6%
2024: 42.1%
January to July 2026
2.06 TWh
Provisional. 6 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
4.0–6.1
TWh a year. Low 2025, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 6,500,052 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 6,584,218 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 5,936,504 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 6,048,161 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2004 | 6,815,395 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 6,547,154 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 6,233,855 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 6,952,537 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,193,991 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 5,956,642 | 57.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 5,697,972 | 54.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 455,564 | 51.3% | 1 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,533,894 | 52.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 4,527,376 | 43.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,992,862 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 6,056,665 | 58.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 5,734,610 | 55.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 6,082,242 | 58.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,513,813 | 36.9% | 11 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,378,203 | 42.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,041,617 | 42.6% | 11 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,450,666 | 42.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,327,440 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,025,815 | 42.1% | 11 of 12 |
| 2025 | 4,009,989 | 38.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,062,692 | 39.4% | 6 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
4.27M
US short tons. 2024: 4.54M
SO₂, 2025
2,765
US short tons
NOx, 2025
6,334
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.06 t
About 2,129 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 4), matched to EIA plant 1001 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
467,144
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
4,671
million gallons
Source
Wabash River
Surface, Fresh. Once-through
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.194
USGS SUI, HUC12 Dry Branch-Wabash River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 531.0 | October 1970 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 531.0 | June 1972 |
| 4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 112.5 | June 1993 |
| 31 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | June 1972 |
| 32 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | June 1972 |
| 33 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | June 1972 |
| 34 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.6 | June 1972 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Indiana, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Cayuga and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Cayuga
More plants operated by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC
Questions about Cayuga
How much power does Cayuga produce?
Cayuga reported 4,009,989 MWh (4.01 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.6% capacity factor on 1,184.9 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.06 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Cayuga?
Cayuga is in Vermillion County, Indiana, at 39.9242, −87.4244. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Cayuga?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Indiana, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 15470). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Cayuga start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1970, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Cayuga?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to Cayuga, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page