Edwardsport
Natural gas and other fuels power plant in Knox County, Indiana. 812.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC.
Also known as Edwardsport Integrated Gasification Combined Cycle · EIA plant 1004
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 812.7 MWNatural gas 481.2 · Other fuels 331.5
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 2013First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Indiana, LLCEIA operator ID 15470
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 4 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Knox County, IN38.8067, −87.2472
- EIA plant ID
- 1004EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Edwardsport produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.54 TWh
3,543,698 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: 38.0%
January to July 2026
2.07 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.7–4.0
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2019
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 527,684 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 460,733 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 344,544 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 337,741 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 429,745 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 264,930 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 111,964 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 236,334 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 265,680 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 41,716 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 113,404 | 9.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,052,217 | Not reported | 7 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,178,808 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,107,471 | 44.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 3,092,547 | 43.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,969,292 | 56.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,962,018 | 56.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,981,902 | 56.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 3,267,844 | 46.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,840,179 | 54.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,942,007 | 55.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,273,390 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,709,469 | 38.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,543,698 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,065,766 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
2.63M
US short tons. 2024: 2.10M
SO₂, 2025
55
US short tons
NOx, 2025
983
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.74 t
About 1,486 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (6-1, 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, CTG1, CTG2), matched to EIA plant 1004 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,429
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
986
million gallons
Source
Collector Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.150
USGS SUI, HUC12 Smothers Creek-White River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 240.6 | June 2013 |
| CT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 240.6 | June 2013 |
| ST | Coal Integrated Gasification Combined Cycle | 331.5 | June 2013 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Indiana, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Edwardsport and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Edwardsport
More plants operated by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC
Questions about Edwardsport
How much power does Edwardsport produce?
Edwardsport reported 3,543,698 MWh (3.54 TWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.07 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Edwardsport?
Edwardsport is in Knox County, Indiana, at 38.8067, −87.2472. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Edwardsport?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Indiana, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 15470). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Edwardsport a natural gas or a other fuels plant?
Both. Natural gas capacity totals 481.2 MW and other fuels capacity totals 331.5 MW.
When did Edwardsport start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 2013, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Edwardsport?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Edwardsport, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page