Natural gasOperatingCAISO

Gilroy Power Plant

Natural gas power plant in Santa Clara County, California. 130 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Calpine Gilroy Cogen LP.

Also known as EIA plant 10034

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Gavilan Community Col…Graniterock QuarryHollister Wastewater FacilityHollister Solar LLCEnerparc CA1 LLCGilroy10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 22 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
130 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 1987First generator online
Operator
Calpine Gilroy Cogen LPEIA operator ID 3028
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Santa Clara County, CA37.0001, −121.5367
EIA plant ID
10034EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Gilroy produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

21.1 GWh

21,084 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

1.9%

2024: 3.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

21.1–141.4

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000919,635Not reported12 of 12
2001959,070Not reported12 of 12
2002842,868Not reported12 of 12
2003179,306Not reported12 of 12
2004329,724Not reported12 of 12
2005108,550Not reported12 of 12
2006109,677Not reported12 of 12
2007281,291Not reported12 of 12
2008124,050Not reported12 of 12
2009261,639Not reported12 of 12
2010160,65114.1%12 of 12
201142,9983.8%12 of 12
2012241,33821.1%12 of 12
2013125,051Not reported12 of 12
201461,3715.4%12 of 12
2015138,22412.1%12 of 12
2016141,39312.4%12 of 12
2017115,53610.1%12 of 12
2018102,6829.0%12 of 12
201989,5387.9%12 of 12
2020107,4729.4%12 of 12
2021100,6678.8%12 of 12
202279,1186.9%12 of 12
202359,4715.2%12 of 12
202444,2133.9%12 of 12
202521,0841.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

11,199

US short tons. 2024: 22,833

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

4

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.53 t

About 1,062 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (S-100), matched to EIA plant 10034 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle90.0October 1987
GEN2Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle40.0October 1987

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Calpine Gilroy Cogen LP as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Gilroy Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Gilroy

More plants operated by Calpine Gilroy Cogen LP

Questions about Gilroy

How much power does Gilroy Power Plant produce?

Gilroy Power Plant reported 21,084 MWh (21.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 1.9% capacity factor on 130 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Gilroy Power Plant?

Gilroy Power Plant is in Santa Clara County, California, at 37.0001, −121.5367. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Gilroy Power Plant?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Calpine Gilroy Cogen LP as the operator (EIA operator ID 3028). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Gilroy Power Plant start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 1987, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Gilroy Power Plant?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Gilroy Power Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page