Natural gasOperatingPJM

Eastern Correctional Institute

Natural gas power plant in Somerset County, Maryland. 3.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Maryland Environmental Service.

Also known as EIA plant 10693

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

UMES (MD) - Princess AnneUMMS at PocomokeCosten SolarParker PlaceCommonwealth ChesapeakeEastern Correctional…10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 24 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.8 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 1987First generator online
Operator
Maryland Environmental ServiceEIA operator ID 11704
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Somerset County, MD38.1590, −75.7040
EIA plant ID
10693EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Eastern Correctional Institute produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

12.0 GWh

12,021 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: Not reported

January to July 2026

8.28 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

7.1–12.1

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20029,159Not reported12 of 12
2003155Not reported12 of 12
20049,631Not reported12 of 12
200512,383Not reported12 of 12
200616,918Not reported12 of 12
2007859Not reported1 of 12
200816,774Not reported12 of 12
200915,711Not reported12 of 12
201016,43632.3%12 of 12
201116,59132.7%12 of 12
201217,97635.3%12 of 12
201316,45032.4%12 of 12
201412,39824.4%12 of 12
201511,55522.7%12 of 12
201611,59122.8%12 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201811,60522.8%12 of 12
201912,09923.8%12 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20218,63217.0%12 of 12
20227,08814.0%12 of 12
2023Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2024Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
202512,021Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)8,28428.1%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1147Natural Gas Steam Turbine1.9August 1987
1148Natural Gas Steam Turbine1.9August 1987

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Maryland Environmental Service as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Eastern Correctional Institute and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Eastern Correctional Institute

Questions about Eastern Correctional Institute

How much power does Eastern Correctional Institute produce?

Eastern Correctional Institute reported 12,021 MWh (12.0 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 8.28 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Eastern Correctional Institute?

Eastern Correctional Institute is in Somerset County, Maryland, at 38.1590, −75.7040. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Eastern Correctional Institute?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Maryland Environmental Service as the operator (EIA operator ID 11704). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Eastern Correctional Institute start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 1987, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page