OilNatural gasOperatingMISO

Story City

Oil power plant in Story County, Iowa. 13.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by City of Story City - (IA).

Also known as Story City Power Plant · EIA plant 1188

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

NCAH Central Utility PlantPOET Biorefining - JewellAmes GTIowa State UniversityStory City10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 18 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
13.9 MWOil 11.9 · Natural gas 2.0
Generators
6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1964First generator online
Operator
City of Story City - (IA)EIA operator ID 18177
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Story County, IA42.1861, −93.6005
EIA plant ID
1188EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Story City produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

315 MWh

315 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.3%

2024: 0.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–1.2

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002382Not reported12 of 12
20032,180Not reported12 of 12
20041,180Not reported12 of 12
2005198Not reported12 of 12
2006325Not reported12 of 12
2007373Not reported12 of 12
200828Not reported12 of 12
200970Not reported12 of 12
20103900.3%12 of 12
20114980.4%12 of 12
20126240.5%12 of 12
20131330.1%12 of 12
2014510.0%12 of 12
2015490.0%12 of 12
20161550.1%12 of 12
20171020.1%12 of 12
20182650.2%12 of 12
20192480.2%12 of 12
20203070.3%12 of 12
20218930.7%12 of 12
20221,1601.0%12 of 12
2023233Not reported12 of 12
2024970.1%12 of 12
20253150.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Petroleum Liquids1.3January 1964
2Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine2.0January 1972
4APetroleum Liquids3.5May 2003
5APetroleum Liquids3.1March 1993
6Petroleum Liquids2.0January 1978
7Petroleum Liquids2.0January 1978

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Story City - (IA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Story City and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Story City

Questions about Story City

How much power does Story City produce?

Story City reported 315 MWh (315 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.3% capacity factor on 13.9 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Story City?

Story City is in Story County, Iowa, at 42.1861, −93.6005. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Story City?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Story City - (IA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 18177). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Story City start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1964, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Story City?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Story City, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page