Potter Station 2
Natural gas power plant in Norfolk County, Massachusetts. 116 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Town of Braintree - (MA).
Also known as EIA plant 1660
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 116 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2009First generator online
- Operator
- Town of Braintree - (MA)EIA operator ID 2144
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 2 ISONE nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Norfolk County, MA42.2350, −70.9672
- EIA plant ID
- 1660EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Potter Station 2 produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
41.0 GWh
40,994 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
4.0%
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2016 to 2025
14.9–58.9
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 120,903 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 109,467 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 78,169 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 46,654 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 18,347 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 13,711 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 10,822 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,069 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,170 | 0.7% | 3 of 12 |
| 2011 | 57,168 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 7,321 | 4.5% | 1 of 12 |
| 2013 | 12,852 | Not reported | 2 of 12 |
| 2014 | 36,110 | 3.7% | 6 of 12 |
| 2015 | 35,401 | 2.0% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 58,881 | 3.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 44,978 | 2.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 46,784 | 2.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 14,928 | 0.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 20,736 | 1.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 22,813 | 1.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 34,767 | 1.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 32,274 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 23,330 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 40,994 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
27,186
US short tons. 2024: Not reported
SO₂, 2025
0
US short tons
NOx, 2025
3
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.66 t
About 1,326 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (3, 4, 5), matched to EIA plant 1660 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| WAT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 58.0 | July 2009 |
| WAT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 58.0 | July 2009 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Town of Braintree - (MA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Potter Station 2 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Potter Station 2
More plants operated by Town of Braintree - (MA)
Questions about Potter Station 2
How much power does Potter Station 2 produce?
Potter Station 2 reported 40,994 MWh (41.0 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 4.0% capacity factor on 116 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Potter Station 2?
Potter Station 2 is in Norfolk County, Massachusetts, at 42.2350, −70.9672. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates Potter Station 2?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Town of Braintree - (MA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 2144). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Potter Station 2 start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2009, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Potter Station 2?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Potter Station 2, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page