Buchanan (MI)
Hydro power plant in Berrien County, Michigan. 4.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 10 generators, operated by Indiana Michigan Power Co.
Also known as EIA plant 1754
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 4.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 10 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1919First generator online
- Operator
- Indiana Michigan Power CoEIA operator ID 9324
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 10 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Berrien County, MI41.8396, −86.3511
- EIA plant ID
- 1754EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Buchanan (MI) produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
13.0 GWh
12,968 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
33.6%
2024: 39.4%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
13.0–17.3
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 16,367 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 17,960 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 16,117 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 15,616 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 18,581 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 14,058 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 18,857 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 15,794 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 14,985 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 14,175 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 16,428 | 42.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 14,780 | 38.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 13,673 | 35.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 17,108 | 44.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 17,973 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 16,525 | 42.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 17,256 | 44.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 15,710 | 40.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 15,998 | 41.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 14,092 | 36.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 14,085 | 36.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 15,489 | 40.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 15,839 | 41.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 15,336 | 39.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 15,235 | 39.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 12,968 | 33.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 5 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 6 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | January 1919 |
| 7 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | January 1927 |
| 8 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | January 1927 |
| 9 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | January 1927 |
| 10 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.5 | January 1927 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Indiana Michigan Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Buchanan (MI) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Buchanan (MI)
More plants operated by Indiana Michigan Power Co
Questions about Buchanan (MI)
How much power does Buchanan (MI) produce?
Buchanan (MI) reported 12,968 MWh (13.0 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 33.6% capacity factor on 4.4 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Buchanan (MI)?
Buchanan (MI) is in Berrien County, Michigan, at 41.8396, −86.3511. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Buchanan (MI)?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Indiana Michigan Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 9324). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Buchanan (MI) start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1919, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Buchanan (MI)?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 10 price nodes linked to Buchanan (MI), with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page