Fond Du Lac
Hydro power plant in St Louis County, Minnesota. 12 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by ALLETE, Inc..
Also known as Fond Du Lac Dam · EIA plant 1894
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 12 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1924First generator online
- Operator
- ALLETE, Inc.EIA operator ID 12647
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- St Louis County, MN46.6668, −92.2939
- EIA plant ID
- 1894EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Fond Du Lac produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
37.6 GWh
37,626 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
35.8%
2024: 51.5%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
28.3–84.3
GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2017
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 50,562 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 48,736 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 59,583 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 42,029 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 45,119 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 47,344 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 30,182 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 40,536 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 50,270 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 39,696 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 39,477 | 37.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 26,528 | 25.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 0 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 13,936 | 13.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 34,370 | 32.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 44,863 | 42.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 69,190 | 65.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 84,348 | 80.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 50,598 | 48.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 63,002 | 59.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 50,324 | 47.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 28,275 | 26.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 44,596 | 42.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 48,130 | 45.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 54,337 | 51.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 37,626 | 35.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 12.0 | January 1924 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists ALLETE, Inc. as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Fond Du Lac and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Fond Du Lac
More plants operated by ALLETE, Inc.
Questions about Fond Du Lac
How much power does Fond Du Lac produce?
Fond Du Lac reported 37,626 MWh (37.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 35.8% capacity factor on 12 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Fond Du Lac?
Fond Du Lac is in St Louis County, Minnesota, at 46.6668, −92.2939. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Fond Du Lac?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists ALLETE, Inc. as the operator (EIA operator ID 12647). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Fond Du Lac start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1924, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Fond Du Lac?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Fond Du Lac, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page