Morony
Hydro power plant in Cascade County, Montana. 63 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro).
Also known as Morony Power Station · EIA plant 2191
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 63 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1930First generator online
- Operator
- NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro)EIA operator ID 13902
- Grid
- NWMTBalancing authority NWMT
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Cascade County, MT47.5817, −111.0609
- EIA plant ID
- 2191EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Morony produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
215 GWh
214,712 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.9%
2024: 46.1%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
214.7–324.0
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 200,158 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 216,100 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 244,474 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 215,002 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 251,361 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 273,198 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 241,470 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 256,017 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 307,166 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 299,245 | 75.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 199,410 | 50.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 284,608 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 225,296 | 47.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 254,979 | 53.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 247,097 | 52.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 258,995 | 54.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 289,766 | 61.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 323,972 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 318,712 | 57.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 307,622 | 55.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 231,237 | 41.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 228,312 | 41.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 295,018 | 53.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 255,027 | 46.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 214,712 | 38.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| MOR1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 31.5 | January 1930 |
| MOR2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 31.5 | January 1930 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Morony and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Morony
More plants operated by NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro)
Questions about Morony
How much power does Morony produce?
Morony reported 214,712 MWh (215 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.9% capacity factor on 63 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Morony?
Morony is in Cascade County, Montana, at 47.5817, −111.0609. It is in the NorthWestern Energy (NWMT) balancing area (NWMT).
Who operates Morony?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro) as the operator (EIA operator ID 13902). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Morony start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1930, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page