HydroOperatingNWMT

Rainbow (MT)

Hydro power plant in Cascade County, Montana. 59 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro).

Also known as Rainbow Power Station · EIA plant 2193

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Black Eagle Solar, LLCBlack EagleRyanMoronyRainbow (MT)5 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 12 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
59 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 2013First generator online
Operator
NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro)EIA operator ID 13902
Grid
NWMTBalancing authority NWMT
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Cascade County, MT47.5344, −111.2045
EIA plant ID
2193EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Rainbow (MT) produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

299 GWh

298,642 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

57.8%

2024: 63.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

294.0–453.4

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001195,445Not reported12 of 12
2002205,499Not reported12 of 12
2003215,588Not reported12 of 12
2004211,981Not reported12 of 12
2005232,736Not reported12 of 12
2006238,164Not reported12 of 12
2007228,869Not reported12 of 12
2008239,938Not reported12 of 12
2009268,072Not reported12 of 12
2010252,52878.8%12 of 12
2011230,63171.9%12 of 12
2012241,19975.0%12 of 12
2013289,203Not reported12 of 12
2014367,24171.1%12 of 12
2015347,74267.3%12 of 12
2016343,23366.2%12 of 12
2017376,04872.8%12 of 12
2018398,80177.2%12 of 12
2019453,37087.7%12 of 12
2020402,13377.6%12 of 12
2021308,36959.7%12 of 12
2022294,01356.9%12 of 12
2023394,87576.4%12 of 12
2024328,96763.5%12 of 12
2025298,64257.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
RAI9Conventional Hydroelectric59.0March 2013

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Rainbow (MT) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Rainbow (MT)

More plants operated by NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro)

Questions about Rainbow (MT)

How much power does Rainbow (MT) produce?

Rainbow (MT) reported 298,642 MWh (299 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 57.8% capacity factor on 59 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Rainbow (MT)?

Rainbow (MT) is in Cascade County, Montana, at 47.5344, −111.2045. It is in the NorthWestern Energy (NWMT) balancing area (NWMT).

Who operates Rainbow (MT)?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists NorthWestern Energy (MT Hydro) as the operator (EIA operator ID 13902). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Rainbow (MT) start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 2013, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page